The First Post.

I have decided to write a blog (this is what happens when I get bored, I get creative). It is something that I have been kicking around for some time now and after encouragement from dear friends and family (and it being a new year after all), I have decided to take the plunge. 

I think to some degree, we can all agree that 2016 was not a great year. For me, it involved a lot of changes. Changes that stretched me, pulled me, and grew me into a better person. It felt like a war but between the self I felt like I was, and the self I was becoming. I love the person I am becoming but I would not want to do it again. For other people, the wars were bigger or smaller but I feel like we all were fighting through/for/with something.

“There should be stars for great wars like ours.  There ought to be awards and plenty of champagne for the survivors.” – Sandra Cisneros

My goal with this blog is to go back  to creating something with my hands. In college I worked in the coffee business and I loved making something for people. Before school became research papers, I enjoyed writing and in fact had a knack for it. It was something that I felt like I did really well. Now that school is (finally) done, I want to go back to one of my first loves which is writing. Lastly, my church, Fellowship Monrovia did a series on the 10 Commandments called A Love Letter Written in Stone. I realized that I withhold truth (the 9th Commandment) by not sharing how I feel and because I do not share truth, I rob people of speaking God’s love into their lives (the 8th Commandment). It was like a one two punch when I realized that. With this blog I want to get better at sharing my experiences, the things that I love, what people mean to me, and ultimately what God is teaching me. All good and wonderful things on here so that readers may feel a break from the personal war they are fighting.

One of my goals for 2017 is to do the things that I have always wanted to do but was nervous to try. This blog is one of them.

I hope you will come along with me on this journey and may 2017 be a year of pursing our dreams.

Oh, and if you’re curious about the title of the blog go here.

5 thoughts on “The First Post.

  1. Kristy Walker January 11, 2017 / 1:01 pm

    Hi Sara, so glad you are blogging. I will read it religiously:) during nap times. Miss you,

    Like

  2. Jennie Godoy January 11, 2017 / 5:19 pm

    Yay Sara! Loved reading your papers for grad school so I am sure I will LOVE reading your blogs. Excited for you.

    Like

  3. Jenn G. January 11, 2017 / 6:58 pm

    I sure love hearing your voice Sara! Sending you so many hugs!

    Like

  4. M. LOO January 12, 2017 / 3:35 am

    SaRA! Hooray for you. So happy and proud you took the leap. Good job!

    Like

  5. Scott Hogue January 12, 2017 / 5:52 am

    Well done, Sara! And not saying this just because I’m your dad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

