January Favorites

Because why not share what I loved last month at the tail end of next one?

Beauty: 

The DryBar

Screen-shot-2010-11-08-at-4.33.26-PM.png

I do not get excited for a lot of things when it comes to beauty, but hair is one area I am all about. My hair is a crazy curly, wavy, straight deal and letting it air dry is out of the question. Hence I spend about an hour (at best) washing, drying, and straightening my hair. Often it is stressful, exhausting, and leaves me wishing I had buckets of money so I could pay someone to do my hair everyday. Enter Drybar. It is a no cut or color salon that simply washes and dries your hair. That’s it. The girls (and occasional guy respectfully) there are able to dry my hair in ways that I never thought were possible (some are able to dry, straighten, and curl my hair with just the blowdryer and a brush…WHAT) and whatever they use, my hair loves. They are pricy (especially when you think about what all they actually do) but I am not one for getting my nails done or getting expensive massages so this is my bimonthly treat. Plus for me, I can’t think of something more relaxing than someone else doing my hair.

Book: 

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron

51vRdczjY7L.jpg

Told through the eyes of the dog it is a very sweet story. The premise of this book is the same dog keeps coming back (think reincarnation) as a different breed of dog searching for what his purpose is in his current life. Each life is lightly interwoven into the next and it is a wonderful light read.  I almost went out and bought a dog after finishing this book.

Coffee:

Philz Coffee

p13o4djr

One of the coolest coffee shops I have been to. It’s all brewed coffee that is done as a pour over so you have complete control over your cup of coffee (roast, region of coffee beans, extra flavors) and because they make coffee one cup at a time, it is always fresh #win. It is a cool spot especially for coffee connoisseurs or anybody who wants to learn more about coffee.

Movie: 

La La Land

xrj85wlh.jpg

La La Land is about two young dreamers and trying to make it in Los Angeles. It’s a musical but not overtly so and is so vibrant in colors, if the story doesn’t capture you the visuals will (and I’m not just talking about Ryan Gosling). This charming movie is making quite the name for itself in awards season and it’s nice to see and semi-Indie film taking over Hollywood. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are not only great separately, but make an incredible duo and you can feel the chemistry between them throughout the film. If you like old movies this does a great job of nodding to the classics while standing on it’s own. It’s a fun movie with a lot of heart and I’ve seen it twice already.

Music:

Emeli Sande – Long Live the Angels (Deluxe)

emeli-sande-album-cover

I have had this album on repeat since it was first released. Emeli is a powerhouse and this album captures so many different emotions found in a relationship. If you like Adele chances are you will love Long Live The Angels. Emeli does not get the attention that she deserves for her music which makes her feel like a well kept secret but the secret needs to get out. You can find her entire album on Spotify which gives no excuse to not at least give her a try 🙂

Favorite Songs:  Hurt, Every Single Little Piece, and This Much is True (because any song that could potentially be a first dance at a wedding, I am a sucker for).

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “January Favorites

  1. M. LOO February 25, 2017 / 3:59 pm

    Well done Sara! Maybe you could become a professional reviewer .I guess that is what bloggers are huh?…..CWM

    Like

  2. James Scott Hogue March 5, 2017 / 11:12 pm

    I will read the book and listen to the album. Excellent reviews and recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

